Home > news > 6 ways to stay fit on the road

6 ways to stay fit on the road

Hey all,

Geoff with Train Insane here. Just about to get on a plane at John Wayne airport. I got the opportunity to model for the National Academy of Sports Medicines new text book (Pretty cool stuff). But any way I had an idea about something to share with all of you. Do you ever feel like your schedule just won’t permit you to work out? Like there just are not enough hours in the day/week to get in a workout? Typically I do not have this problem seeing as how I own a gym and all. However this last week end was extremely busy for me. I had a 2 day fitness conference Friday and Saturday in Chino Hills, that went from 10-5, and now I am flying out to Spokane for this photo shoot where I will be until Tues. Now I could just let that little lazy voice in my head win, the one telling me “well it’s not like you can work out in the air port,” or I can do whatever it takes to get in a little exercise, even if that means finding a corner in the air port to do push ups. The point that I am making is that no matter where you are or what you are doing, there is SOMETHING that you can do. That being said, I came up with a small list of things that you can do in any hotel room, board room, air port corner (if your crazy like me), or even lobby wherever you go. ENJOY!

1.Push Ups (there are 100’s of push up variations, and if you are a Train Insaner you know what they are.)

2. Body Squats (pretty self explanatory)

3. Dips (these can be done on a chair, a stool, or even the foot of your bed)

4. Lunges (another oldie but goodie)

5. Burpies (these will really get the heart rate going, I know my boot campers love to hate these)

6. Planks (another one with a ton of variations, these will make those abs pop)

P.S. Just in case this still seems a little complicated to you, here is what you can do. You can take all 6 of these exercises and super set them together. That means that you do one after the other with little to no rest. The only other variable to play with is how many reps to do of each, and how many rounds to do. This is the part of the workout that you can cater to your fitness level. It is also a great way to measure your progress in a workout like this. Start with 10 reps of each and 1 round. Depending on how you feel after that, you can do more rounds or add more reps. As you can see there is a huge variety of things that you can do with only 6 exercises.

Stay Fit!

Train Insane

Categories: news Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. September 8, 2010 at 5:58 pm

Leave a Reply

