Home > Uncategorized > It’s Time to Make Time

It’s Time to Make Time

Now before I get into this post, I want to preface it with this…I realize that no matter how compelling a case I make in writing this, I know that some people will dismiss this as “he doesn’t understand my situation.”  And hey, maybe you’re right, maybe you have a situation that I have never heard before, and if I heard it, I would tell you that you were right and you don’t have time to workout.  However…that being said, health and fitness is NOT just for people with free time on their hands.

Now that I got that out the way, I can start convincing everyone else that they DO have the time to workout.

The idea for this post actually came from my fiance.  I had just gotten home from our 6am boot camp class, and was watching TV while I was eating my breakfast.  If you have ever watched TV at that time, you know that most of the basic cable channels are all running infomercials, and most of them are advertising fitness equipment and workout programs. This one in particular was talking about “Do this for 15 min a day 3 times a week and you can look like this paid fitness model that has never used this product in his life” or something like that.  (And they probably made a million dollars with it)

She pointed out something that I thought was interesting.  She said, “It’s funny how people will wait in line at Disneyland for 2 hours, watch a 2 hour American Idol special, and spend no less than an hour a day on Facebook, but only want to spend 15 min working out.

That was interesting to me, and the more I thought about it, the more I realized it was TRUE!  We have actually gotten to a place in our society where we despise exercise SOOO much, that we let people tell us things that we know aren’t true, and pay them for it to avoid actually working out.

Can any of you actually look me in the eye (without laughing) and say you really think you can have a six pack by doing a 15 min workout 3 times a week? Of coarse you don’t, but hearing that sounds better than the truth.  The truth being that yes, you can achieve any fitness goal that you want, but you’re gonna sweat, and  be sore, and all the other things you know deep down go along with getting in shape.

So here is the part where I give you my 2 cents on how you can make time to workout.  Unfortunately for this topic, I don’t have any tricks or tips to make it easier.  The truth is that the ONLY way that I know how to solve this problem is also the easiest.  You need to make YOU important.  What I mean by that is if you wait to magically have the free time to workout, you never will.  If you think that all of a sudden a block of time will open up in your schedule and clouds will part and there will be a golden path to the gym, you are sadly mistaken.  You need to make it part of your schedule like anything else.  You need to give yourself 1 hour 3 times a week no matter what.  Treat it like a meeting at work that you CAN’T miss.  If you look at it as something you do in your free time, it is too easy to skip it.  Start off this week by making fitness appointments with yourself.  Put reminders in your phone the same way you would with any other meeting.  I will leave you with a great quote that I use a lot in our boot camps that I think is a great way to end this post:

“Take care of your body, it’s the only place you have to live.” -Jim Rohn

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

