Home > Cardio > The Truth About Shape Ups

The Truth About Shape Ups

As you can see by the title, this post is going to talk about the shape ups by sketchers and all the other

variations of them. I am going to dispel the myths around the shoes and completely debunk the notion that these goofy looking shoes can actually get you in shape. First off I can not believe that I even have to sit and write such an article! We as a society have become SO lazy that Rebocks, Sketchers, and a few other companies have led us to believe that by wearing these “specially”  designed shoes we can have a Butt like Kim Kardashian… I mean come on people do you really believe this crap???

Just the other day I was having a conversation with a client and the shape ups got brought up. Every time this topic gets brought up it makes my blood boil!! She went on to say ” but when I wear them my legs burn so that means they are working right?” at that moment I wanted to ram my head through the wall..Now just because you put them on and they burn your legs does NOT mean they are working or getting you in shape. Think about it this way, that is like me saying hey come to the gym and I’ll beat the crap out of your legs with a bat. Now that will make you SORE! But hopefully we all know that that is not toning your legs. My point is this, just because the first time you put the sketchers on you got sore does not mean they are working or will get you in shape.

Also if you read the article about over and under training, you would also know that in order to change there has to be a gradual increase in stimulus. So lets just say hypothetically speaking the shape ups did work, after the first week something would have to change to increase the stimulus, and to my knowledge there is no way to snap on or off new pieces of the shoe to get a new stimulus and if there were new pieces to snap on the shoe after week three you would look like someone from the local circus!!

The sad reality is the fact that NOBODY wants to work for anything these days..I mean come on folks if it were as easy as wearing a weird pair of shoes and getting the ideal body, then obesity would not exist!! I am pretty sure that if I came out with a “SPECIAL” colored and tailored shirt and said if you wore it everyday at the end of a few months you would be rich people would think I was crazy. But that is the same logic as the shape ups,  Me: “Well how do you know they work?” Shape Ups Rep: “Well we gave them to these fitness models and look at their butts.”  And that is the same for every gimmick fitness product you have ever seen.  They have fitness models or fit celebrities show up the day of the commercial, tell them what they are “endorsing” and then shoot the commercial.  It makes me SICK to think that Shape Ups pulled Joe Montana into their ads.  “Joe Cool”, say it aint so. Again if you are looking for an easy way out then you better pack a lunch and keep on searching!!

  1. March 7, 2011 at 8:49 am

    totally agree. i have Reebok easy tones and run tones. they only burn the first time you wear them. after that there is no work out. you need something more. therefor, no to everyone who asks if they work. but what i do like about them and the only reason why i endorse them is because they are the most comfortable tennis shoes i have ever worn. i have flat feet so most tennis shoes i try on have either too big an arch to the point where it’s pressing on a pressure point with every step I take, or the sole in general makes my feet hurt because it is really hard. The easy tones and run tones its like walking on air. At the end of the day, my feet feel fine. Did my legs get a work out from wearing them, no. They got a work out because I went running, not because I went running in the shoes. But i do hear that the sketchers and other versions of the shoe that have a taller air pocket are bad for your ankles. the Reebok ones have less of an air pillow and more like a balance ball. look them up on google for a comparison.

  2. James
    March 8, 2011 at 3:03 am

    Great article. I persoanlly feel that if anything they are diong more harm then good. These shoes are basically designed to throw a person center of gravity off causing them to have to constantly twitch and make adjustments. What is concerning to me is that if a person who is out of shape starts usin these crapy shoes, they could probably damage thier knew, ankles and hips and even lower back. I wonder if these companies are doing any long term studies on the prolonged effect of using these shows in ralation to knee, angkles and hips. Things that make you go “hmmm????””

  3. March 8, 2011 at 5:38 am

    @James, I agree completely. I doubt very much that there is any thought given to long term with these shoes. However, it is just another example of people thinking that shoes can solve their fitness problems.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

