Home > Motivation > Excuses or Results?

Excuses or Results?

Every once in a while, I sit down to write a post about something that is bothering me. Typically that is not the case, I usually write posts for the purpose of inspiration, motivation, information, and any other -ation you can think of.

This post however is about something that has been bugging me lately. Now I want to start by saying that most of the time the people that are actually reading this are probably not the ones that it is directed at, but hopefully this will reach a couple of the people that this is about.

As many of you who are getting amazing results already know, Train Insane is getting bigger every month. We are now doing a little bit of advertising in different places, and for the first time, people have been calling us to come train instead of the other way around. For the most part this is AWESOME! However there is a small percentage of people that call in that I will never understand.

These people fit into a group that seem to enjoy participating in what Aaron and I now call “phone workouts.” These people seem to think they get a workout by talking to us on the phone. I mean we are good, but not that good. They call us, because they saw a flier, or advertisement, or found us on the internet, and talk our ear off for upwards of 30 minutes. They will tell us all about their goals, how what they are currently doing is NOT working, how frustrated they are being over weight, and on and on. Then when we ask them when they would like to come in to try out the program, they turn into an excuse machine. It’s like they forgot that THEY CALLED US! All of a sudden they are the busiest people on the planet. They have kids, they have work, they have…fill in the blank. This is always funny to me, because they just had 30 minutes to waste telling me about all their problems.

My question is, did they think that by talking about all their fitness problems that it helped? Did they think that Train Insane was a counseling service? I know this is probably common sense for most people, but I am just going to say it, talking on the phone does not burn calories. Just want to make sure we are all on the same page before I go any farther.

Now it never ceases to amaze me the amount of time that people will spend talking about their problems, and how little time doing anything about them. Walk into any salon, office building, or even during lunch at a restaurant, and I guarantee you will hear no less than 10 people talking about how they need to get in shape, but how many do you think are actively doing anything about it? I guess that is the message of this post, DO SOMETHING! I don’t even care what it is as long as you are making an effort to fix the problem. The truth of the matter is that you can make excuses all you want, but eventually your health will catch up to you. When your doctor tells you that you have high blood pressure, high cholesterol, pre-diabetic, or any of the other complications that can arise from not exercising, no excuse will matter. I think I will close this post with a quote that Aaron and I use a lot when people have excuse after excuse about why they can’t exercise. “Which is more convenient for you, working out for an hour a day, or being dead 24 hours a day?”

If you are reading this, and it is starting to sound like you more and more, start making a change today! Click this link and get started in a program that guarantees results. Or keep doing what you are doing and hope that magically one day it will work.

Categories: Motivation
  1. March 31, 2011 at 5:54 pm

    Haha Jeff I did that to you but i really was busy … But the average adult can burn between 46 to a 100 per hour talking on the phone if they are the ones talking for the entire time ..Maybe some people think that is enough. I agree I went to your class and loved it and if i didnt live far away and more local it would have been easier for me to attend however speaking with you and attending that first class got me motivated to eat healthier just by seeing your results and working out at the gym more consistently . Needless to say I love your blogs they are always filled with advice and motivation . Thank you

    🙂 Bree

  2. April 1, 2011 at 5:35 am

    @Bree, first of all you spelled my name wrong 🙂 Second, I am glad that you are reading these posts, it is always cool to get feed back. I hope you are doing well on your fitness quest. You really should come see our new gym though, it blows the other one away.

  3. April 1, 2011 at 6:40 am

    love this! i was definitely one that made excuses all the time. although i wouldn’t waste other people’s time. just my own. i would sit and watch tv for an hour or two a day and complain about not being in shape and that exercise was the only thing i really lacked. but it took me a while to finally realize how easy it was to just make a commitment. still hard not to give up but its worth every bit.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

